HC Commission 2017c


The City of Haines City is a home rule municipality and operates under the commission-manager form of government. The City Commission of Haines City is the elected legislative and governing body of the City. It consists of five (5) City Commissioners elected to serve four (4) year terms. The Commission selects a Mayor and Vice-Mayor through a majority vote of the Commission each year.

Commission Members

H.L. Roy Tyler, Mayor, Seat No. 4 – April 2020   – Email:

Morris L. West, Vice Mayor, Seat No. 3 – April 2020 – Email:

Horace West, City Commissioner, Seat No. 2 – April 2018 – Email:

Don Mason, City Commissioner, Seat No. 1 – April 2019 – Email:

Anne Huffman, City Commissioner, Seat No. 5 – April 2021 – Email:

City Commission Duties

Responsibilities of the City Commission include:

Areas of Assistance & Advice

The City Manager is appointed by the City Commission and serves as the chief executive officer to carry out their policies and oversee the daily business of the City. Professionally qualified and experienced personnel head the city departments and provide municipal services to the public. In addition, boards and committees comprised of many area residents, assist and advise the City Commission on various matters.